365 Days of Disney: Winnie the Pooh and Wreck-It Ralph

Hello everyone! Happy Thanksgiving, and welcome to another installment of my 365 days of Disney! Unfortunately, this post is going to have to be a bit more brief than usual because I’ve got cooking and baking to do in preparation for our big family meal! So let’s get right to work.

Image result for winnie the pooh 2011 poster

Winnie the Pooh was released on April 15, 2011 in the UK and Ireland, and was later released worldwide on July 15. It was the second theatrical feature film of the Winnie the Pooh franchise to be in theaters, and the fifth including home videos. It featured similar styles of animation as the first, and is actually considered Disney’s last “traditionally animated” feature in their filmography. The theme song was reprised by beloved actress and musician Zooey Deschanel. Though critics were overall impressed with the film, it only managed to earn $50.1 million at the box office against a $30 million production budget. Suffice to say, Winnie the Pooh was a failure for Walt Disney Company.

Image result for winnie the pooh 2011

Image result for winnie the pooh 2011

Image result for winnie the pooh 2011

Image result for winnie the pooh 2011

Image result for winnie the pooh 2011

When I watched the 1977 The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh earlier in my Disney journey, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. It was so whimsical and unique—and I’ve never been a big fan of the franchise. Winnie the Pooh, on the other hand, lacked something for me. I’m not sure whether I just prefer the original level of animation, the story line, or the voice actors, but this movie didn’t have the same spark as the ’77 release.

One thing I DID love about it was hearing sweet Zooey Deschanel’s voice sing the theme song and a few other tunes throughout the film. Her voice and style matches the sweetness and innocence of Pooh Bear and all his friends so beautifully. I think she was the perfect fit.

There’s not much else to say about a franchise like Winnie the Pooh. Do I think this is better than the 1977 original film? Definitely not. But for those with little ones, it’s a great introductory Disney feature that is easy to watch, hear, and see.

Next is Wreck-It Ralph!

Image result for wreck-it ralph poster

Wreck-It Ralph premiered at the El Capitan Theatre on October 29, 2012, and was later released on November 2. The film, combining witty comedy with the nostalgic arcade video games culture, was a smash hit both critically and with audiences. It’s budget landed at around $165 million, and it raked in a MASSIVE $471 million at the box office. It was nominated for an Academy Award and a Golden Globe, though it didn’t win in either category.

Image result for wreck-it ralph

Image result for wreck-it ralph 2012

Image result for wreck-it ralph 2012

Related image

Image result for wreck-it ralph 2012

While I think the theme of Wreck-It Ralph is incredible, there’s something slightly forgettable about this movie to me. I can’t put my finger on it, especially since I really enjoyed watching it again. The aesthetic of it is so cool and unique. The music is fun. But I think, if I’m being honest with myself, the characters are where it lacks for me. Sure, Ralph and Vanellope are fantastic. But all the other characters failed at making a long lasting impression. Even the villain, who was voiced by the incomparable Alan Tudyk, just wasn’t doing much for me.

There are some great moments in this film, and I can definitely see why so many folks went to see this one in theaters—it’s a stunning display of colors and action within an animated movie. But Wreck-It Ralph just doesn’t feel like something I would ever be in the mood to watch. Do I like it? Definitely! Do I find it forgettable? Unfortunately, yes.

Sorry to wrap this up so quick, folks, but it’s time for me to do some more cooking! I hope your holiday is full of gratitude and love. Oh! And good food. 🙂

See ya real soon!

Leave a comment